Nearly Insane – The First Two Blocks

It was not a very auspicious beginning for my Nearly Insane Quilt! Nevertheless, the first two blocks are done.

Block 67

I started with what was a really easy block and can you believe this is what I did?!?

I also forgot there were points to match in the centre of the pieces!

The fabric looked so pretty when I cut it out – it took me ages to do that, as I fussy cut those bouquets! I picturized it as flowers from behind a trellis. I don’t think I like it very much put together. The original block has two strong contrast fabrics. Perhaps quilting will make a difference?

Here is how it looks now.

The blocks will be all placed on point, so I will photograph them like that.

Block 67 from the quilt originally made by Salinda Rupp – popularly known as Nearly Insane.

Vital Stats

Number of pieces – 29

Level of difficulty – Easy.

Partly ( corners) foundation paper pieced

Block 71

This block was, surprisingly, a toughie! The centre flower strip finishes at 3 and 5/8″. I could not draft it on Quilt Assistant, so I traced the template from the book.

Traced the block template from the draft in book by Liz Lois

I pieced all the strips first before joining them on the block template. I quite love this!

Nearly Insane Block 71 – love this block!

Vital Stats

Number of pieces – 29 (Again!)

Level of difficulty – Easy ( If you don’t have to draft the block template).

Strips pieced first and then assembled on foundation paper.

I did mention that I am working on these blocks only two days a week? Which means you have to wait for that long to see the next block!  I bid you goodnight with a quick peep into what is cooking next Wednesday!

Coming up next!

Another look at the first two together…


Happy Quilting!

  

7 thoughts on “Nearly Insane – The First Two Blocks

  1. A very ambitious project! It will be very neat to see your blocks as you go along. Summer Breeze III is my favorite fabric line. Good luck!

    • Thank you, I am going to need that luck! Most people have taken 3 to 5 years to complete it. And yes, Summer Breeze is really pretty, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

